

## COMMISSION MEMBERS

DAMON KERBY Chairperson California Association of Independent Schools

BARRY GROVES Vice Chairperson Association of California School Administrators

THOMAS ADAMS California Department of Education

SAMANTHA BENISH California Federation of Teachers

GRANT BENNETT Association of California School Administrators

RON CARRUTH Association of California School Administrators

STEPHEN CATHERS East Asia Regional Council of Schools

CHAD COLDEN Western Catholic Educational Association

NANCY COONIS Western Catholic Educational Association

ERIKA CRUZ Pacific Islands CHASE DAVENPORT

Charter Schools MITCHELL D'OLIER

Public Member, Hawaii ODIE DOUGLAS Association of California School

Administrators JOSEPH DUGAN Public Member, California

GREGORY FRANKLIN Association of California School Administrators

DAVID GAUDI Hawaii Association of Independent Schools

JOHN KERR Postsecondary Education

ANN MAHI Hawaii State Department of Education

MICHAEL McCOY Association of California School Administrators

DEREK MINAKAMI Hawaii Government Employees' Association

SUZANNE MULCAHY Hawaii State Department of Education

BARBARA NUNES California School Boards Association

DALE PHILLIPS Association of Christian Schools International

LAUREL SALERNO-WHITE California Teachers Association

MARSHA SERAFIN California Association of Private School Organizations

SALLY TODD Western Catholic Educational Association

BERIT VON POHLE Pacific Union Conference of Seventh-day Adventists

JOEL WAHLERS National Lutheran School Accreditation

SOPHIA WAUGH California Congress of Parents and Teachers, Inc. (PTA)

DORIS YAMASHIRO-TANAKA Hawaii State Teachers Association

DAVID YOSHIHARA Association of California School Administrators

## Accrediting Commission for Schools Western Association of Schools and Colleges

533 Airport Boulevard, Suite 200 • Burlingame, California 94010 (650) 696-1060 • Fax (650) 696-1867 mail@acswasc.org • www.acswasc.org

**FRED VAN LEUVEN, ED.D**. *President* 

MARILYN S. GEORGE, ED.D. Vice President

May 1, 2017

Ms. Bernie Evangelista Principal California Montessori Project - Capitol Campus 2635 Chestnut Hill Drive Sacramento, CA 95826

Dear Ms. Evangelista:

The Accrediting Commission for Schools, Western Association of Schools and Colleges (ACS WASC) announces the action taken at the Spring 2017 Commission Meeting. The ACS WASC Commissioners have determined California Montessori Project - Capitol Campus (K - 8) meets the ACS WASC criteria for accreditation. This accreditation status is based on all of the information provided by the school, including the self-study report, and the satisfactory completion of the on-site accreditation visit.

It is the decision of the Commission to grant Six-Year Accreditation Status with a Mid-cycle One-day Visit through June 30, 2023.

California Montessori Project - Capitol Campus is required to prepare a Midcycle Progress Report for the Mid-cycle Visit. The report and visit should demonstrate that the school has:

- Addressed the critical areas for follow-up through the schoolwide action plan;
- Made appropriate progress on the implementation of the schoolwide action plan; and
- Improved student achievement relative to the schoolwide learner outcomes and the academic standards.

Accreditation status is conditioned upon California Montessori Project -Capitol Campus's continued adherence with the ACS WASC policies, procedures, and criteria for accreditation. This includes a requirement that an accredited school annually contribute members from the school staff or district to participate on visiting committees. Failure to maintain compliance with said policies, procedures, and standards is grounds for modification and/or withdrawal of the accreditation. May 1, 2017 California Montessori Project - Capitol Campus Page 2

The Commission looks forward to California Montessori Project - Capitol Campus's anticipated success and continuing improvement in keeping with ACS WASC's pursuit of excellence in elementary, secondary, and adult education.

Sincerely,

Jamm Icerty

Damon Kerby Commission Chairperson

cc: Visiting Committee Chairperson Superintendent